There were good reasons for the break. After her apprenticeship, Franziska wanted to study for a dual degree course in mechanical engineering, but for that she needed her Abitur (university-entrance diploma). Within a year she got her diploma and was then able to enroll at the Friedrichshafen campus of the Baden-Württemberg dual study University.

Financed by OSRAM

“I didn’t actually want to study,” says Franziska. But, on the basis of her good performance, the HR Department made her an offer that she really couldn't refuse. “Siteco wanted dual students who also have good technical abilities. The company offered to finance my course,” Franziska explained. “I had always wanted to continue my training to become an industrial mechanic anyway. So why not study?”

Convincing work

This recognition for the performance of technically gifted Franziska shows that, for a long time now, women have conquered the typically male professions at OSRAM – and with great success. “It wasn’t easy to convince above all the men in the workshop that I, as a woman, could do the same or even better work. At first, I had to earn their respect but, in the meantime, they have recognized that female trainees can definitely match the skills of their male colleagues.

No fear of complex tasks

As a dual student in mechanical engineering, Franziska really benefitted from her practical experience. At the same time, her strengths in logical thinking and her constructive mathematical abilities proved to be helpful: “whether I am calculating, designing or working out 3D models – it’s no problem for me.”

“If you are creative, and think in a totally different direction to more experienced colleagues, that comes across well. You also earn to think outside the box!”

Franziska Obermayer
Bachelor of Engineering
Production and Management

Highly practical mechanical engineering

In the core subjects of design and development, I was mainly involved with facilities that enable the production of light sources. Siteco products light up locations such as the Humboldt Box in Berlin and the Hamburg Volkspark Stadium. Franziska builds the facilities that produce these light sources.

The construction or conversion of such machines often takes several years from the initial idea to their completion. During her three-year dual study course, from which she graduated as a Bachelor of Engineering, Production and Management, Franziska took the development of a machine further, together with her supervisor. The project took two years.

What she really liked about it was that her opinion was genuinely valued. “If you are creative, and think in a totally different direction to more experienced colleagues, that comes across well,” she says. “You also learn to think outside the box!” By the way – even if she hadn’t taken advantage of this opportunity herself, Franziska finds it is good that dual students have the chance at OSRAM to spend a semester abroad, in Africa, Shanghai or Boston.

A master’s degree? Later perhaps

First, she is giving herself some time to breathe. “Eight years of training is enough to be starting with. For now, I will be working in my department at Siteco. If I want to do a master’s degree, I’ll make that decision later.”

"Light is my motivation
This is where talent meets experience.
That's how we reach our goals."

Franziska Obermayer,
Bachelor of Engineering
Production and Management

Tags of Creativity is rewarded

Colleagues Learning Apprenticeship Dual system

Die Pause hatte gute Gründe. Franziska wollte nach ihrer Ausbildung ein duales Studium im Maschinenbau beginnen, doch dafür brauchte sie Abitur. Binnen eines Jahres erlangte sie die Hochschulreife und konnte sich dann an der Dualen Hochschule Baden-Württemberg am Campus Friedrichshafen einschreiben.

Finanzierung durch OSRAM

„Eigentlich wollte ich gar nicht studieren“, sagt Franziska. Aber aufgrund ihrer guten Leistungen machte ihr die Personalabteilung ein Angebot, das sie kaum ausschlagen konnte. „Siteco wollte duale Studenten gewinnen, die auch handwerklich etwas drauf haben. Die Firma bot mir an, mein Studium zu finanzieren“, schildert Franziska. „Fortbilden wollte ich mich nach meiner Ausbildung zur Industriemechanikerin auf jeden Fall. Warum also nicht studieren?“

Überzeugungsarbeit

Diese Anerkennung für die Leistung der technisch begabten Franziska zeigt, dass Frauen bei OSRAM längst auch die typischen Männerberufe erobert haben – und zwar mit großem Erfolg. „Es war nicht einfach, vor allem die Männer in der Werkstatt zu überzeugen, dass ich als Frau die gleiche oder vielleicht sogar bessere Arbeit leisten kann. Ihren Respekt musste ich mir erst erarbeiten, aber mittlerweile haben sie erkannt, dass weibliche Azubis ihren männlichen Kollegen durchaus das Wasser reichen können.“

Keine Angst vor komplexen Aufgaben

Von ihrer praktischen Erfahrung hat Franziska als duale Studentin für Maschinenbau sehr profitiert. Zudem erwiesen sich ihre Stärken in logischem Denken und ihre mathematisch-konstruktiven Fähigkeiten als hilfreich: „Ob ich berechne, konstruiere oder 3-D-Muster erarbeite – alles kein Problem für mich.“

„Wenn man kreativ ist und in eine ganz andere Richtung denkt als die erfahrenen Kollegen, kommt das gut an. Dabei lernt man auch, über den Tellerrand hinauszuschauen!“

Franziska Obermayer
Bachelor of Engineering
Production and Management

Maschinenbau ganz praktisch

Im Studienschwerpunkt Konstruktion und Entwicklung hatte sie vor allem mit Anlagen zu tun, die der Herstellung von Leuchtmitteln dienen. Produkte von Siteco bringen beispielsweise die Humboldt-Box in Berlin oder das Hamburger Volksparkstadion zum Leuchten. Franziska baut die Produktionsanlagen, mit denen diese Leuchtmittel hergestellt werden.

Der Bau oder Umbau solcher Maschinen dauert von der ersten Idee bis zur Fertigstellung oft mehrere Jahre. Während ihres dreijährigen dualen Studiums, das sie mit der Bezeichnung „Bachelor of Engineering, Production and Management“ abgeschlossen hat, entwickelte Franziska gemeinsam mit ihrem Betreuer eine Maschine weiter. Das Projekt dauerte zwei Jahre.

Besonders gut gefallen hat ihr dabei, dass ihre Meinung wirklich gefragt war. „Wenn man kreativ ist und in eine ganz andere Richtung denkt als die erfahrenen Kollegen, kommt das gut an“, sagt sie. „Dabei lernt man auch, über den Tellerrand hinauszuschauen!“ Apropos: Auch wenn sie selbst diese Möglichkeit nicht genutzt hat, findet Franziska es gut, dass duale Studenten bei OSRAM die Möglichkeit haben, ein Auslandssemester in Afrika, Schanghai oder Boston einzulegen.

Master? Vielleicht später

Sie selbst legt nun erst einmal eine Atempause ein. „Acht Jahre Ausbildung sind erst einmal genug. Zunächst werde ich bei Siteco in meinem Fachbereich arbeiten. Ob ich dann noch einen Master machen möchte, werde ich später entscheiden.“

"Licht ist meine Motivation.
Denn hier trifft Talent auf Erfahrung.
So erreichen wir unsere Ziele."

Franziska Obermayer,
Bachelor of Engineering
Production and Management

Schlagworte für Kreativität wird belohnt

Kollegen Weiterbildung Ausbildung Duales Studium