• OSRAM

Business Activities and Structure of OSRAM Licht Group

OSRAM is a global provider of lamps, luminaires and lighting solutions with a leading position in a wide range of market segments. Our product portfolio spans the entire lighting value chain, from light sources down to custom light management systems, both in general and in speciality lighting.

The shift toward semiconductor technology continued to radically alter our business environment, and we continued to counter this in fiscal 2015 primarily using the measures forming part of our OSRAM Push improvement program. Beyond the technology-related shifts, changes are increasingly becoming apparent in the business models pursued by companies active in the lighting market. To date, several companies in the lighting industry have been active in all market segments and along the entire value chain; the dominant global players are Philips and OSRAM. The past fiscal year saw OSRAM react to the transformation of the lighting market, which is proceeding at different speeds and posing a variety of challenges, by departing from its previous strategy in which it positioned itself as a provider of diversified product portfolios along the entire value chain. Philips also recently started a strategic realignment of its lighting business.

On June 12, 2015, OSRAM resolved to carve out its general lighting lamps business. In doing so, we are taking market developments, which are proceeding at different speeds, into account and are enabling both the lamps business and our future core business to better adapt themselves to their specific market requirements. Consequently, OSRAM ’s core business will in future comprise automotive and specialty lighting, opto semiconductors, and luminaires, lighting systems, and solutions. This move increases the focus of our business model on growth, innovation, and technology leadership. We aim to complete the carve-out of the lamps business from an organizational perspective by April 1, 2016, and from a legal perspective by July 1, 2016

Since July 1, 2015 , our business model has been implemented at an operational level using five business units: Specialty Lighting (SP) and Opto Semiconductors (OS), both of which remained unchanged, Digital Systems (DS), Lighting Solutions (LS), and Lamps (LP). The Luminaires and Solutions business units and the Services unit had already been combined under common management from October 1 , 2014 , as the Luminaires & Solutions Business Unit. This was renamed Lighting Solutions as of July 1, 2015 . As part of the carve-out of the lamps business, the classic lamps and LED lamps business activities became the key components of the new Lamps Business Unit as of July 1, 2015 . These had previously been assigned to the Classic Lamps & Ballasts and LED Lamps & Systems business units, respectively. The remaining business activities of the former Classic Lamps & Ballasts and LED Lamps & Systems business unit ballasts and light engines & controls, were bundled in the DS Business Unit.

Please find more information in the latest annual report (p. 51)

• OSRAM

Geschäftstätigkeit und Struktur des OSRAM Licht-Konzerns

OSRAM ist ein global aufgestellter Anbieter von Lampen, Leuchten und Lichtlösungen am Licht markt, mit führenden Marktpositionen in verschiedensten Marktsegmenten. Unser Produkt spektrum umfasst die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette der Beleuchtung von der Lichtquelle bis zu individuellen Licht-Management-Systemen, sowohl in der Allgemein- als auch in der Spezial-beleuchtung

Mit dem technologischen Wandel zur Halbleitertechnologie setzte sich die fundamentale Veränderung unseres Geschäftsumfelds weiter fort, der wir auch im Geschäftsjahr 2015 vor allem durch die Maßnahmen unter unserem Verbesserungsprogramm OSRAM Push weitere wesentliche für den Geschäftsverlauf ursächliche Ereignisse Rechnung getragen haben. Über die technologiebezogenen Verschiebungen hinaus zeichneten sich zunehmend Veränderungen in den Geschäftsmodellen der am Lichtmarkt aktiven Unternehmen. Bislang sind in der Lichtindustrie einige Unternehmen in allen Marktsegmenten und entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette tätig; die dominierenden, global aufgestellten Unternehmen sind Philips und OSRAM. Auf die Transformation des Lichtmarkts mit ihren unterschiedlichen Dynamiken und Anforderungen reagierte OSRAM im abgelaufenen Geschäftsjahr mit einer Abkehr von seiner bisherigen Strategie, Anbieter eines diversifizierten Produktportfolios mit einer umfassenden Abdeckung der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette zu sein. Auch Philips hat begonnen, sein Lichtgeschäft in jüngster Vergangenheit strategisch neu zu positionieren.

OSRAM hat am 12. Juni 2015 die Verselbstständigung seines Lampengeschäfts der Allgemeinbeleuchtung beschlossen. Damit tragen wir der Marktentwicklung mit ihren unterschiedlichen Dynamiken Rechnung und ermöglichen dadurch sowohl dem Lampengeschäft als auch unserem zukünftigen Kerngeschäft, sich besser auf die spezifischen Marktanforderungen einzustellen. In der Folge werden die Bereiche Automobil und Spezial beleuchtung, optische Halbleiter sowie Leuchten, Systeme und Lösungen das Kerngeschäft von OSRAM bilden. Damit richten wir unser Geschäftsmodell noch stärker an den Themen Wachstum, Innovation und Technologieführerschaft aus. Wir planen, die Verselbstständigung des Lampengeschäfts organisatorisch bis zum 1. April 2016 und rechtlich bis zum 1. Juli 2016 abzuschließen.

Die operative Umsetzung unseres Geschäftsmodells erfolgt seit dem 1. Juli 2015 über fünf Business Units: SP - Specialty Lighting, OS - Opto Semiconductors (beide unverändert), DS - Digital Systems, LS - Lighting Solutions sowie LP - Lamps. Bereits zuvor (ab 1. Oktober 2014 ) wurden die beiden Business Units Luminaires sowie Solutions zusammen mit der Einheit Services unter eine gemeinsame Leitung gestellt und damit zur Business Unit Luminaires & Solutions zusammengefasst, die - ebenfalls zum 1. Juli 2015 - in Lighting Solutions umbenannt wurde. Im Rahmen der Verselbstständigung des Lampengeschäfts wurden zum 1. Juli 2015 im Wesentlichen die Geschäftsaktivitäten „Classic Lamps“ sowie „ LED Lamps“, die bislang den Business Units Classic Lamps & Ballasts beziehungsweise LED Lamps & Systems zugeordnet waren, in der neuen Business Unit Lamps gebündelt. Die übrigen Geschäftsaktivitäten „Ballasts“ und „Light Engines & Controls“ der bisherigen Business Units Classic Lamps & Ballasts sowie LED Lamps & Systems wurden in der Business Unit DS zusammengefasst.

Lesen Sie mehr im aktuellen Geschäftsbericht (S. 51)