• OSRAM
Skip to main

Environmental Management

Environmental management at OSRAM includes the sustainable handling of energy, water, waste and chemicals as well as the control of air pollution. Above that, the environmentally conscious design and recycling of products play an important role. These objectives are defined in our EHS guidelines and are therefore mandatory for all locations of operation worldwide. In order to continually monitor the degree of achievement of our objectives for environmental protection, we have created an organization with clearly defined areas of responsibility and a systematic management system certified according to the international standard ISO 14001 for continuous improvement processes.

Environmental management according to ISO 14001

Since 1996, the international standard ISO 14001 has served as the basis for creating environmental management systems. It aims to continually improve environmental protection measures throughout the industry. A company can obtain ISO 14001 certification by:

  • Pursuing concrete environmental policies, including the establishment of environmental guidelines
  • Conducting regular environmental analyses aimed at establishing new environmental objectives and environmental programs to meet changing needs
  • Defining and documenting the allocation of funds for environmental protection
  • Conducting regular internal environmental management checks
  • Conducting regular evaluations of its environmental management and making changes where needed

OSRAM has created the necessary organization for this industry standard and a comprehensive system for environmental management. All relevant OSRAM plants are certified according to ISO 14001.

In case of need, certificates can be requested from the following address: sustainability@osram.com

Environmental protection at our production sites

Responsibility for environmental protection at OSRAM lies clearly with company management and is supervised by the EHS department which handles company-wide coordination and continued development. At individual plants, managers and their department heads are responsible for practical implementation. The plants receive support and advice from our environmental experts on energy, water, waste, chemicals and air pollution.

Internal monitoring and environmental analyses

We regularly monitor our environmental management and conduct analyses to test the progress made in environmental protection and ensure that it complies with the EHS guidelines. This monitoring and analysis is carried out by our EHS department. OSRAM uses these results to ensure that all relevant legal and other requirements are respected and to explore innovative ways of improving environmental protection at OSRAM. For environmental reporting we have globally implemented a web-based EHS software suite. Each OSRAM site exceeding a defined threshold in energy consumption, emissions or waste production is required to quarterly report its environmental figures.

Sustainability in Transport Logistics

Sustainability plays an important role for us also in transport logistics because the combustion of fuel produces CO2 emissions. OSRAM records these CO2 emissions so that they can be minimized by making the most efficient use of transport facilities.

Email Alerts: Sign up to receive the latest group news and updates by email

• OSRAM
Skip to main

Umweltmanagement

Das Umweltmanagement bei OSRAM umfasst den nachhaltigen Umgang mit Energie, Wasser, Abfällen und Chemikalien sowie die Überwachung von Emissionen. Darüber hinaus spielen das umweltbewusste Design und Recycling von Produkten eine wichtige Rolle. Diese Ziele sind in unseren EHS-Richtlinien (EHS – Environmental Protection, Health Management and Safety) definiert und somit für alle Betriebsstandorte weltweit verbindlich vorgeschrieben. Um den Erfüllungsgrad unserer Umweltschutzziele kontinuierlich zu überwachen, haben wir eine Organisation mit klar definierten Verantwortungsbereichen sowie ein systematisches Managementsystem gemäß der internationalen Norm ISO 14001 aufgebaut.

Umweltmanagement gemäß ISO 14001

Seit dem Jahr 1996 dient die internationale Norm ISO 14001 als Grundlage zur Schaffung von Umwelt­management­systemen. Das Ziel dieser Norm ist die kontinuierliche Verbesserung des Umweltschutzes in der gesamten Industrie. Ein Unternehmen muss folgende Vorgaben erfüllen, um eine Zertifizierung gemäß ISO 14001 zu erreichen:

  • Verfolgung konkreter Umweltstrategien, einschließlich der Erstellung von Richtlinien für den Umweltschutz
  • Regelmäßige Durchführung von Umweltanalysen mit dem Ziel, Umweltziele und Umweltprogramme weiterzuführen und neue zu erstellen, um veränderten Anforderungen gerecht zu werden
  • Definition und Dokumentation der Zuweisung von Finanzmitteln für den Umweltschutz
  • Regelmäßige Durchführung interner Umweltmanagement-Prüfungen
  • Regelmäßige Bewertung des Umweltmanagements im Unternehmen sowie gegebenenfalls Durchführung von Änderungen

OSRAM hat die erforderliche Organisation geschaffen, um diese Industrienorm zu erfüllen, sowie ein umfassendes Umweltmanagementsystem eingerichtet. Alle relevanten Werke von OSRAM sind nach ISO 14001 zertifiziert.

Zertifikate können im Bedarfsfall unter folgender Email-Adresse angefordert werden: sustainability@osram.com

Umweltschutz an unseren Produktionsstandorten

Die Verantwortung für den Umweltschutz bei OSRAM obliegt der Unternehmensleitung, wobei die EHS-Abteilung für die Überwachung der Umweltschutzvorgaben sowie für die unternehmensweite Koordination und kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung des Umweltschutzes zuständig ist. Die jeweiligen Führungskräfte sowie deren Abteilungsleiter sind für die praktische Umsetzung in den einzelnen Werken zuständig. Die Werke werden von unseren Umweltexperten im Hinblick auf Energie, Wasser, Abfall, Chemikalien und Luftverschmutzung entsprechend unterstützt und beraten.

Interne Überwachung und Umweltanalysen

Wir überprüfen unser Umweltmanagement in regelmäßigen Abständen und führen Analysen durch, um den Fortschritt in Sachen Umweltschutz zu überwachen und sicherzustellen, dass die EHS-Richtlinien eingehalten werden. Unsere EHS-Abteilung ist für diese Überwachung und Analysen zuständig. OSRAM nutzt diese Ergebnisse, um sicherzustellen, dass alle rechtlichen und relevanten Anforderungen erfüllt werden, sowie um innovative Ansätze zur Verbesserung des Umweltschutzes im Unternehmen zu erkennen. Für die Umweltberichterstattung haben wir weltweit eine internetbasierte EHS-Software implementiert. Jeder Standort von OSRAM, der aufgrund seiner Betriebsgröße bestimmte Grenzwerte beim Energieverbrauch, bei Emissionen oder bei der Produktion von Abfall überschreitet, ist verpflichtet, quartalsweise über seine Umweltzahlen zu berichten.

Nachhaltigkeit in der Transportlogistik

Auch in der Transportlogistik spielt Nachhaltigkeit für uns eine wichtige Rolle, da unter anderem Transportmittel durch die Verbrennung von Treibstoff für CO2-Emissionen verantwortlich sind. OSRAM bilanziert diese CO2-Emissionen damit sie durch den optimalen Einsatz der Transportmittel minimiert werden können.